724 5th Ave NW is a cream-colored home with red trim, rectangular windows, and a turret facing the street, but it didn’t always live here. It was built by a banker around 1910 on the Cornell College campus, and was referred to as the Cornell Faculty House. It was moved to its current location in 1935 so the college could construct Merner Hall. The move was likely a difficult, labor-intensive process, given the time period. The college continued to own the home on its new site and rented it to faculty until the home’s sale in 1973. The house is, in all likelihood, facing a different direction than originally intended. This unusual positioning, however, allows passersby to see the historic mail slot still attached to the home. The exterior wall of the spiral staircase, leading to the second floor, includes windows decorated in charming red trim.
The interior, with its well-preserved Victorian woodwork and deep red hue, creates a warm and inviting feeling, as does the welcoming foyer. Beneath the staircase sits a small storage room, which the residents have playfully dubbed the "Harry Potter" room. Another staircase off the back of the kitchen leads up to a bedroom that was likely a servant's quarters.